Februari Festival 'Camille Saint-Saëns'

Februari Festival
Date: Wednesday, 30 June 2021 20:00

Venue: Nieuwe Kerk The Hague

Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre, Op. 40 (arr. for organ and pan flute) - Clarinet Sonata in E flat major, Op. 167 - Piano Quartet in E major, Op. posth.
Ysaÿe: Sonata for Violin Solo in G major, Op. 27 No. 5
Lekeu: Adagio pour quatuor d’orchestre (arrangement for piano quartet by Bob Zimmerman, co-commissioned by Squire Artists and the Orlando Festival for the Malevich Piano Quartet - world premiere)

Geerten van de Wetering, organ | Matthijs Koene, pan flute | Arno Stoffelsma, clarinet | Sepp Grotenhuis, piano | Jeroen Dupont, violin | Malevich Piano Quartet

read more ...

A few programme notes on this concert:
The work of Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) is rooted in the rich classical music tradition of composers such as Rameau, Bach, Mozart and Mendelssohn. Nevertheless, the composer has injected his music with typically French elements: a plush elegance, a youthful élan, sparkling piano parts and, above all, distinctively French mélodies. The most talented French composer towards the end of the 19th century, Guillaume Lekeu (1870 -1894), wrote compositions that are suffused with intense emotion and pathos. The contrasts are tremendous.


Spui 175 - The Hague, Netherlands